Webpage Success

One Page – One Topic or Multi-Page

A forum question was asked about writing for a website and site construction. For a particular story was it better to have one page for one topic or break up pages. I suppose the answer may lie in how long a particular article is. I have had pretty good success with the one topic one page approach. For the better search query, I like to have a searchable page be “about what it is about”. In other words have the page be specifically about its topic in the narrowest sense so that the keywords relating to that topic reach an appropriate density for a search engine to be able to correctly identify what the subject of that page truly is and what it relates to. For me I’ve usually chosen a word count of 300 to 800 per page. Though sometime more information may be needed to contain the topic. Much longer, I might follow the idea of breaking up the page into several, or also this method if there are more than one sub topics within a topic and to have the title pages and descriptions closely relate to the page subject. I’ve found in the current organic search invironment that seems to be make search algorythms quite happy. And a happy algorythm makes for a happy webmaster.

This entry was posted in Website. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment